Dries Buytaert

Nominations for Directors of the Drupal Association

The Drupal Association is seeking nine candidates for its Board of Directors. The Board of Directors establishes policy, hires and manages an executive director, reviews and approves the budget and financial reports, and participates in fundraising. For more details on the organizational structure see earlier posts.

Strategic priorities for the Drupal Association include: implementing its new bylaws and organizational structure, starting leading and participating in standing committees, pursuing transparency through active communication, achieving operational efficiency, promotion, and expanding assistance to organizers of community events and activities.

The board usually meets at least twice per month. Directors must be prepared to commit at least 15 hours per month to the Board and related activities.

Four Board meetings per year are held in-person and directors are expected to travel to these. Board meetings will coincide with DrupalCons when possible. Director positions are not paid, and directors should expect to pay their own expenses in most instances.

We are looking for a diverse board and will consider the following factors when selecting candidates:

  • Geographic diversity
  • Industry diversity: the perspectives of various sectors are valuable (government, publishing, education, not-for-profit, corporate, etc.)
  • Skill sets
  • Drupal Ecosystem: the board should reflect the various perspectives of the members of our community (volunteers, small shops, large shops, large integrators, in-house teams, designers, end-users, etc.)
  • Outside perspectives: FOSS at large, legal, CPA

Experience in any of the following areas is desirable; non-profit boards, event management, business, marketing and communications, law, finance, accounting, fundraising and technology. Experience and involvement with the Drupal project and community are desirable, but not required.

If you are interested in being considered for a seat on the Drupal Association Board of Directors, please contact the Nominating Committee by Wednesday 27 July by submitting the application form. Potential candidates are individually interviewed, evaluated and selected by the Nominating Committee.

The Nominating Committee consists of the following members:

  • Khalid Baheyeldin
  • Dries Buytaert
  • Greg Knaddison
  • Bevan Rudge
  • David Strauss
  • Kristof Van Tomme
  • Moshe Weitzman

If you're interested, apply now!

— Dries Buytaert